Oscar is at that age where we can’t take our eyes off of him.  Not just because he’s so cute, but because he’s a reckless danger to himself.  This really only became apparent this weekend after we thought we’d let him play “alone”, or rather entertain himself while we’re basically standing right next to him.  In the second it took for me to turn my back and then face around again, he’d flipped over a play table and knocked himself just under his eye, and then later in the day fell forward while trying to climb god-knows-what.  Needless to say, he has two pretty decent bruises – on his face, mind you – and I’m mortified.  My husband, on the other hand, is relieved that both bruises happened while Oscar was on my watch (and not his).  Meanwhile, I’m just trying to wrap my head around the fact that this boy is a total daredevil, and more bruises and scrapes await.  Enter Arnica cream (which I got a few years back in a gift bag somewhere and thankfully held onto) – it’s an anti-inflammatory and apparently good for bruising.  Call it psychosomatic, but I swear the huge bump/black and blue mark on Oscar’s forehead is significantly better today after just one application.  And since I tend to be a major clutz myself, we’ll put this new household product in the Mommy and Me drawer. Starting to become quite the homeopath over here (I also swear by Camilia for teething).

