I grew up eating soup made in a “crock pot” all winter long.  My mom would bring it out at the first sign of cold weather and it was basically on until summer. Naturally, we registered for one when we got married and only in the last few months have I really started to use it.  I can now see why my mom is such a huge fan.  It’s easy, healthy and delicious.  I have vegetable soup down and recently branched out when we met some friends at one of our favorite Mexican restaurants, Loteria.  They have this shredded chicken that is beyond delicious which all three of us love.  It’s basically chicken, diced tomatoes and onions all stewed together.  So, after discussing with a few friends what they use their slow cooker for and thrilled at the realization that I could re-create the Loteria chicken at home (my, how life has changed – I never would have thought that slow cookers would become an actual topic of conversation!), I took a couple of chicken breasts out of the freezer, a can of diced tomatoes and a diced onion, threw them all into the cooker (no need to add liquid), turned it on and left for a playdate.  Six hours later we had the best shredded chicken ever – nowhere near dried out and so flavorful from the tomatoes and onions. We ate ours with warm corn tortillas, sour cream, cilantro and salsa while Oscar enjoyed his straight up without the fixin’s. Either way, I still can’t believe how easy it is to make.  Perfect for the ever-changing nap time window I have to adhere to.

