Sunday morning started with a family trip to Target for the ever-so-anticipated Eugenia Kim and Cynthia Vincent collaborations.  The fact that the store opens at 8am was perfect – Oscar had been up for over an hour and I thought for sure that if we got there around 8, everything would be out already (you know, they’d get everything ready the night before), there would be plenty to choose from, we’d find what we were looking for and be home by 9. Wrong.  First of all, the Target employees care WAY less about this stuff than I do.  Secondly, I was obviously not even close to the only one eager for this drop date of April 18 (who was I kidding in thinking that I would be).  They didn’t even have the above gladiators (which, in addition to the straw fedora, was the only thing I was interested in) and there were several other woman, literally out of breath as this was their second and third Target stop of the morning, there in search of the very same shoe.  They were apparently sold out on-line (it didn’t occur to me to go online first thing to beat the East Coast rush of shoppers because I thought for sure I’d be there with plenty of time to get what I was after – lesson learned for the next time) so we left, halfway defeated, with the Eugenia Kim fedora (score at $17) and a killer set of sand toys for Oscar.  Lucky for me, my mom lives just outside of Aspen, CO and was up for the mission that I sent her on to find these shoes.  I got the gladiators after all.  Now let’s just hope that I love them as much as this effort would suggest when she brings them next week for her visit.  Ok, moving on…

