My mother in law gave me this recipe for Basic No-Knead Bread a couple of months ago (after she baked it for us) and I’ve wanted to try it ever since.  Our trip to the farmer’s market this past Sunday prompted me to go for it.  I’ve always thought that the delicious, hard crusted bread that you get at restaurants was only under the purview of a trained professional. Turns out I was wrong.  Can’t wait to impress our next dinner guests with it.

Mix 3 cups of bread flour, 1 1/4 heaping teaspoons of salt, 1/2 teaspoon active dry yeast and 1 1/3 cups lukewarm water together.

Cover in a plastic bowl overnight to rise.

In the morning, sprinkle a dish towel with flour and form into a circle, like the picture above.

Cover with the towel for another two hours.

Preheat heavy pot (I used one of our Le Creuset pots) in a 475 degree oven for 30 minutes.

Using towel, flip dough into the pot, cover with lid and bake for 25 minutes.

Uncover and bake for another 10 minutes.

Remove from pot and eat right away.  Not exactly what I needed after a five day cupcake bender, but delicious nonetheless.

