From the inside looking out. Images via nickeldiner.com

We just had lunch downtown at Nickel Diner where I had probably the best burger I have really ever had, the Nickel Burger.  It was cooked medium well (exactly how I like it) and came on the perfect toasted brioche bun with cheddar cheese, thousand island dressing and iceberg lettuce.  A little ketchup and I was in heaven.  Although not hungover, Jed ordered the Hangover Helper – a combination of eggs, spicy Italian sausage, bacon, pepperjack cheese, avocado and potatoes.  It looked good but I didn’t even bother tasting it because mine was so good.  I always want what he’s having, but not today.  And thankfully, they were out of their famous glazed donuts with crumbled maple bacon because I think that would have put me over the edge.  The wait is long (we waited for about 35 minutes) but seriously well worth it.  And Oscar had a blast.  He’s a baby who loves to lunch (and he took a morning nap today so there goes my theory that he’s transitioning to one nap a day because he’s sleeping again now).

The Nickel Burger.

Maple bacon covered donut.

