Whenever my mom is in town, she bakes.   My husband has a raging sweet tooth so he loves it.  I, on the other hand, have to basically tie my hands behind my back and channel my inner whatever so I don’t eat what is fresh out of the oven.  This recipe for Mandel bread (basically Jewish biscotti) is tried and true and dates back to when her grandmother would get in the kitchen.  They are delicious, keep forever and give off the impression that you slaved over them for hours.  Not quite my reality theses days, but I’ll take credit where credit is due (and of course pass it along to the source).  Anyway, make them, you won’t be sorry!

They are this simple:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees

3 eggs, 1 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup melted butter, 2.5 cups of flour (with a little extra to add if necessary), pinch of salt, 1/2 teaspoon of almond essence (I leave this out because I don’t love the taste), 1 packet of slivered almonds – toasted and 2 teaspoons baking powder.

Beat eggs and sugar well.  Mix in remaining ingredients.  Roll out dough until length of greased baking sheet, cut into long strips about 3 or 4 inches wide and bake until they start to get brown (keep an eye on them as all ovens bake differently!).  Cut the long strips into pieces (as seen below) and put back in the oven until they are golden brown.  Cool and then dip into melted chocolate (I use 1/2 cup semi-sweet and 1/2 cup milk chocolate).

Enjoy!  Let me know how they turn out!

freshly dipped!

