It’s not easy to meet friends for lunch these days.  But when I think of my favorite lunch salad, the chopped salad wins hands down.  So when I tried to duplicate my favorites, I realized that it’s all in the chop.  Everything in the salad has to be cut small. Small and uniform in size.  I know, it seems like a tedious nightmare (however, perfect for someone who is Type A like myself) but it really isn’t.  You’re chopping everything anyway, so just think small.  I use either romaine lettuce or iceberg (sometimes both if I’m feeling crazy), garbanzo beans (no need to chop), low fat shredded mozzarella (also, no need to chop), tomatoes, cucumbers, sometimes pepperocinnis, turkey pepperoni (cut in quarters), freshly squeezed lemon, olive oil and salt and pepper to taste.

side of bread, optional

Easy and delicious.  And sure beats the wait for a table at La Scala.  Not to mention the fact that I don’t need to worry about Oscar dropping 2/3 of his lunch on the floor when we’re in the comfort of our own home (or the home of a friend)!

