I started my post-college life as a Merchandising Editor at a magazine in NYC.  After living there for five years, I moved to LA, worked as a freelance wardrobe stylist, both editorial and celebrity, and had a baby almost 11 months ago.  While I feel extremely lucky to be home with Oscar, I have my moments (which usually fall between the hours of 9:30 – 11ish and 3 – 4:30ish – naptime) where I feel a little bit out of the loop.  You know, disconnected from the outside world.  And while I feel fortunate to have had a baby during the Facebook boom, there is only so much facebooking I can do (especially since I’m not a status updater).  And once I’ve checked the day’s news headlines and looked at a couple of  other websites, I’m good but still feel a bit isolated.  So I decided to start a blog.  Nothing groudbreaking, I know, but just a place where I can share with the world my outfit for the day, my latest flea market find or in-home project,  my plan for dinner or the latest kids discovery.  A cyber Mommy and Me of sorts.  A place that allows me to feel connected, relevant and fashionable.  But I need you all to follow me.  Daily. And you can expect me to be short and sweet, relevant and real.

Plus, I want to do a better job of documenting Oscar’s life.  I never got a baby book as a gift (weird since most people I know get at least three!?) and so I’ve really only put milestones in my blackberry calendar (so help me god if I lose it).

Since it’s been a while since I’ve had a New Year’s resolution (like nine years), I am using January as my official launch.    So here we go, on January 12, 2010.  Don’t they say that it’s better late than never?  I leave you with this – quite possibly the best cake I’ve ever made, literally.

Mark Bittman’s coconut layer cake with chocolate icing.  Which leads me to my New Year’s resolution # 2, exercise.  I’m looking forward to seeing you often in 2010.  xx

